Puerto Rico announces team for Qualifier and Caribbean Series

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico, January 3, 2019 - Puerto Rican national coach Jose Mieles announced the 14 players of the team that will play in both the Qualification Tournament to the Pan American Games and the Caribbean Series.

Thursday 03 de January del 2019 09:00 AM

"I will repeat 12 of the players in both matches and will rotate one setter and one libero between the tournament and the series," explained Mieles.

The 12 players competing in both events are the captain Natalia Valentin, Shara Venegas, Neira Ortiz, Diana Reyes, Ana Sofía Jusino, Paola Rojas, Karina Ocasio, Legna Hernández, Julymar Otero, Pilar Marie Victoriá, Paulina Prieto and Sarai Álvarez.

Mieles said that for the qualifier he will be using the prospect setter Wilmarie Rivera and the libero Valeria Leon while for the Caribbean Series will use Raymariely Santos (setter) and Adriana Viña (líbero).

Puerto Rico opens its participation in the qualifier on Friday January 4 facing Nicaragua, then meets Nicaragua on Saturday 5 and on Sunday 6 will play against Trinidad & Tobago.

The winner of the qualifier gets the last berth to the Pan American Games in Lima 2019.

On the other hand, the inaugural Caribbean Series will be played on the same three days against the Dominican Republic.

All the matches will take place at Roberto Clemente Coliseum of San Juan.





Publicado por: Norceca.info
Fuente: Norceca.net

Latest news